Higher Ground 2010

This year on our Higher Ground leadership team we had Kayla Hughes, Katie Hughes, Matt Hughes, Emilie Buhl, Eli Buhl, Noah Dietz, Peep Dietz, Sarah Cass (intermittently), Kayla Rossey (intermittently), Andy Fitzpatrick (speaker), StillWaiting, and Furthermore. Just a little bit of background. We were far more on the ball this year since we’d been through it once and I’d been to a couple similar youth events over the past year.

We started half an hour late since we were waiting on the ReaLife Assembly youth group — and they were well worth the wait. 🙂 We had about 50 kids in attendance this year. We started with Emilie opening with a small explanation and some Scripture and the introduction of Furthermore. We had the blessing of booking them at their EP release party in February, about 7 months in advance and they graciously accepted. Their set got the kids pretty pumped for the rest of the evening. Immediately afterward, Andy (Fitz) presented his message. I have heard several good reports about it so that was pretty exciting. Then we had a break. By this time, we were ahead of schedule (praise God!) and at the end of the break, we announced door prizes which turned out pretty good. And then it was my turn to speak.

Confession time: I wrote my message on the Monday of the same week. Didn’t touch it for the rest of the week. Friday night/Saturday morning, I had a 12:10 AM panic about it which Garrett King talked me through and gave me a lot of pointers which proved to be highly useful.

I presented my message and it turned out decent. People say they liked it, but of course that’s what they’re going to say to your face. 😛 We sent the kids outside for games, which Katie, Peep and Eli organized. They played one game, then pizza arrived and they were quite ready to eat. They ate then we sent them outside for a second game while StillWaiting soundchecked. Right on schedule, the boys started up.  In the middle of it, the ReaLife Assembly group had to leave. We were sad to see them go. 😦 After they rocked their set, they moved right into some worship. This was my favorite part of the whole event. Don’t be surprised if 10 minutes from now you’re still reading about it. 😛

The energy in the building was mind blowing. You could feel God flowing through the individuals and touching hearts. Arms of Love turned out to be the amazing. They played it during the altar call. I happened to sob through said altar call. Christ keeps His promise over and over again of giving me His heart. It was a breaking, compassionate heart at the time. And then just as quickly as it started, it ended. On schedule, perfectly.

I could not ask for a better 5 hours of my life. Yes, I know you’ve heard that before. But it truly changed my life. These experiences are shaping me into what I should be.

To God be the glory! May He reign in us!

“So reign, please reign in us/Come purify our hearts, we need Your touch/Come cleanse us like a flood and send us out/So the world may know You reign, You reign in us” (Starfield; Reign In Us)

~ by neverxxforsaken on September 21, 2010.

One Response to “Higher Ground 2010”

  1. Now you know how I felt after speaking last year. Glad it went well. ^_^

Leave a Reply

 
