Jesus Freak!

“What will people think
When they hear that I’m a Jesus freak
What will people do when they find that it’s true
[oh oh]
I don’t really care if they label me a Jesus freak
There ain’t no disguising the truth”

 

Typically people think of “they” as the world, unbelievers. But what if the “they” is other believers? Sometimes other believers will condemn you if you’re a Jesus freak, for going all-out and just surrendering your whole world for Christ. I started thinking about this as we were worshiping God yesterday morning at the end of Valley View Mennonite Church’s 30 Hour Famine (which I participated in). We sang the song “Hungry” and I began to wonder what would happen if we asked ourselves to give up more than food for more than 30 hours. Can you imagine…

  • a day without clean drinking water?
  • a week without any food?
  • a month without a warm home or bed?
  • a year without any form of healthcare in an illness-ridden society?
  • a lifetime without any media (books, music, tv, magazines)?

Yet everyday, poverty-stricken communities and families in every nation live this way. While they struggle to find their next meal, we struggle to scrape together $15,000 for a new car. While they struggle to find clothing, we struggle to find the perfect size in the right brand name. What if everyday, we were asked to give up our comforts? I feel like a huge hypocrite right now, as I tap this out on the laptop I own, in a warm home, wearing clothes that come from my enormous wardrobe, as healthy as I’ll ever be, with a full stomach, employed at two jobs. But the point I am attempting to reach is the scorn that I may face when I give up my jobs, my income, my warm home, my wardrobe, my healthcare, even a meal or two when full-time ministry with StillWaiting calls me to join them on the road. I may be homeless and penniless, living on a bus with 4 men and 3 other women, desperately trying to make ends meet just to get to the next show. We pray that God’s grace will never lead us there, but we also prepare ourselves to be fully vulnerable to what trials God may lead us through.  And I also prepare myself that my Christian friends and acquaintances will forsake me for following the words of Jesus, because I am taking it one step too far. I’m just a little too passionate for the Gospel. I am a Jesus freak. Shouldn’t I be saving my money to buy a house? Shouldn’t I eat well? Shouldn’t I clothe myself a certain way? Shouldn’t I take care of my health by having insurance?

 

Christ does not say, “Follow me when you’re financially secure”, “follow me as long as you’re getting fed three square meals a day”, “follow me as long as you can comfortably”. He says, “Follow me. Now.” In Matthew 9:9, Matthew does not go home, pack his bags, say good bye to family and friends, fill his wallet, and then follow Jesus. He gets up from his workplace…and follows. And every time Christ gives instructions before asking a disciple to follow Him, it is to serve others by sacrificing their belongings.

 

But that’s a no-no. God is happy with you just doing your thing and doing “as much as you can” as long as you stay comfortable. He would never ask you to leave financial security to follow Him. That’s madness. You don’t give all of yourself and God won’t radically change your life and make you uncomfortable. That’s the way to do it.

 

You’re missing out.

 

Jesus freaks are just that: freaks. And others who say they know Jesus will shun you, admonish you, try to pull you back to your comfortable state of being. I say, “Get thee behind me, Satan!” for he is the one making lukewarm Christians, making us content with our comfortable lives, making us fear being Jesus freaks.

 

I want to live my life a freak. And if Christians despise that, then so be it. I’ll forsake my comfort to follow Him. I will leave what I have behind me to be His servant.

 

And what will they think?

~ by neverxxforsaken on March 28, 2011.

One Response to “Jesus Freak!”

  1. Going through my old emails (that were yet unread). Great post.

Leave a Reply

 
